How do I backup/restore a user?

From time to time users may become corrupt. It is a good idea to backup your users once you have them configured properly. The user files are stored on your system hard drive in the following location:

C:\Program Files\Avid\Avid Xpress\Avid Users (Avid Xpress) or
C:\Program Files\Avid\Avid Xpress DV\Avid Users (Avid Xpress DV)

When you browse to this directory you will see a folder for each of your users. These user directories are fairly small and will fit on a 3.5” floppy disk. (See the Administrator user in the picture above) Copy the user(s) that you wish to back up onto the floppy disk. Alternatively you can back them up on your server or another computer. Saving them to another directory on your system is not recommended in case of system failure.

If your user has become corrupted you have two choices. Delete the user and make a new one or restore a backed up user. To restore a backed-up user, browse to the users folder on your computer which are located at:

C:\Program Files\Avid\Avid Xpress\Avid Users (Avid Xpress) or
C:\Program Files\Avid\Avid Xpress DV\Avid Users (Avid Xpress DV)

and delete the user(s) that is corrupted. Once it is deleted you can now copy the user that you saved on your floppy disk or another computer to the user directory above.

Product: Avid Xpress/Xpress DV
System(s): All
Versions: All
Issue ID: 30
Keywords: restoring users,corrupted users,issue ID 30